History of The Famous Barr Building (1948)
Location: 7425 Forsyth Boulevard
Clayton, MO 63105
Source: Internet search
The building's footprint gracefully follows the curve of Forsyth Boulevard. Two stories in beige brick float over a ground level clad in black polished stone, and are punctured by small square windows that cast fascinating shadows across the curved facade in the sunlight of late afternoon. When new, the curved motif continued through the interior.
Famous-Barr was the first department store to make the move from downtown to the suburbs, opening the first
branch in Clayton on October 8, 1948. Facing competition from the nearby Galleria location and declining sales, Famous-Barr closed its Clayton store in 1991. The building stood shuttered for a few years. Washington University
acquired the building and lot through a combination sale and charitable donation. The University began using it as an overflow library storage space. The building is now known as the Washington University West Campus. Other occupants include a wine and cheese seller, and auction house Ivey-Selkirk -- both fittingly upscale functions for this stylish building.